Growing Families International

Product Ordering Center
Growing Families International
News & Notes
Life Series Part-Two
Life, Children and Character


DVD Series Part Two Now Available 


One goal for Part Two of the Life Series is to show parents how to encourage their children to do “good” out of the love of virtue, and not from the fear of reproof. A second goal of equal importance, is to help parents connect the dots between God’s message of love and good will toward man and the character development of children. God’s love in action is an extension of His character, and training that reflects His character satisfies two human needs. First, through moral training, children learn of the nature of God, which is different than the natures with which they were born.


Second, the outward expression of God’s love is the great evangelizer, for wherever His love is shown in word or deed, there is life. Children trained along these lines become flag bearers of truth and beauty within the society. No child arrives at this level of moral distinctiveness if the home life from which he or she comes is not already conversant with such virtue. To the extent necessary, Life Series Part Two ministers to each family member in a unique way by providing practical examples of over one hundred “behavioral protocols” every child should be familiar with and embrace, especially those with the community of faith.


Lesson Summaries:
Visit Seven introduces the many contemporary challenges to moral education, while addressing the variables associated with the moral training of children. In this visit, the Ezzos explain the five most under-appreciated or misunderstood precepts that govern the moral training of children. If one precept is missing, devalued, or not emphasized correctly during childhood, then the other four precepts are devalued as well. To weaken the foundation upon which the moral house is built is to weaken the entire house. Visit Seven brings clarity to each precept.


Visit Eight explains how parents develop within their children's conscience a personal sense of right and wrong. It also explains the influential role that parents play in shaping the hearts of their children. The many examples point to the process of helping children internalize moral thought, while showing parents how to avoid raising children who are moral on the outside, but not moral on the inside. The reader will also find a “Prohibitive Conscience” Test that measures the health of their own conscience, and level of moral knowledge.


Visit Nine is a transitional visit. It begins with a comprehensive explanation and call for biblical civility, followed by the introduction of the five categories of moral training. Each category represents a number of personal, social and behavioral moments common in all relationships that call for a specific moral response. Category One includes those courtesies that govern greetings, responses to people, responses to situations, and general conversation.


Visit Ten takes up the second category of moral training, which focuses on the social courtesies and considerations tied to honor, respect and service to others. Included in this visit are the various protocols governing respect for parents, age, and the property of others. Very practical and informative.


Visit Eleven covers category three; mealtime behavior, manners and etiquette. There is no other training context within moral education that is as compact and saturated with the call to self-control and otherness-sensitivity than what flows out of mealtimes and manners. When it comes to the particular nuances of mealtime etiquette, the training benefits go beyond the kitchen table. By the end of this visit, your children will have both the knowledge and understanding of the various courtesies associated with dining in the five common mealtime settings: At home no guest; at home with guest; away from home as a guest; dining out; and dining in a buffet setting.


Visit Twelve takes up categories four and five, which will help parents round out their children’s moral profile and bring to both parent and child a sense of completeness. The fourth category deals with those general courtesies that are part of everyone’s life, but do not fit as neatly into the other three categories. Category five looks at a variety of everyday life situations that we should either avoid or actively engage in if we are to be consistent in living out the virtues we know to be true.


While the number of courtesies presented in six visits may seem overwhelming, parents will find that when hearing each courtesy presented by itself, none or intimidating or overwhelming, but in fact all are very manageable. We know our GFI children are fully capable and ready to learn each courtesy, but it is up to Mom and Dad to make it happen. How intentional will you be in the training process? Part Two of the Life Series is here to help parents achieve their moral goals with their children.


Next on our agenda: Part Three of the Life Series: Life Children, Encouragement and Correction. Look for it in early 2015.


Sign In
 User Name
Forget your password?
Create a new account

Whether you’re a first-time guest or long time member, the GFI store is the single resource for all Growing Families curriculum, books, DVDs and supplemental parent-education resources. On this site, visitors can manage their account information, personal profile and access their order history.

For all other ministry related services please visit our main website There, visitors will find additional parenting resources, including ministry news and updates, parenting articles, download resources, a video library, class member and class facilitator support pages, and all pertinent information related to our international ministry hubs, US communities, and ministry partners.

© 2001-2014  Growing Families International, All Rights Reserved  •  Email Customer Service  •  Powered by ION